2014 Ghastly Award winners announced

Ghastly!The winners of the 2014 Ghastly Awards for horror comics have been announced. A full list of winners and nominees can be read below…


[Winners in bold]


Best Ongoing Title:rachelrising
Afterlife with Archie (Archie Comics)
Crossed: Badlands (Avatar Press)
Nailbiter (Image Comics)
Outcast (Image Comics)
Rachel Rising (Abstract Studios)



Best Limited Series:deadworld
‘68: Homefront (Image Comics)
Caliban (Avatar Press)
Deadworld: Restoration (IDW Publishing)
The Strain: The Fall (Dark Horse Comics)
Wraith: Welcome to Christmasland (IDW Publishing)



Best One-Shot:morella
Crossed: Special 2014 (Avatar Press)
Dismal Incantation (Herman Inclusus)
Edgar Allan Poe’s Morella and the Murders in the Rue Morgue (Dark Horse Comics)
Edgar Allan Poe’s The Premature Burial (Dark Horse Comics)
Killogy: Halloween Special (IDW Publishing)



Best Anthology:inthedark0
Bloke’s Terrible Tomb Of Terror #10 (Indy)
God Is Dead: The Book of Acts – Alpha (Avatar Press)
Hellraiser: Bestiary (BOOM! Studios)
In the Dark (Tiny Behemoth Press / IDW Publishing)
Monstrosity Vol. 2 (Alterna Comics)



Best Short Story in an Anthology:surface
Beneath the Surface (Blokes Terrible Tomb of Terror #10)
Grandeur and Monstrosity (God Is Dead: The Book of Acts Alpha)
Not All There (In The Dark)
Red World (Grimm Tales of Terror #4)
Trial by Cauldron (Canaan Cult Revival)



Best OGN:monsters
Carbon (Caliber Comics)
Monsters & Other Stories (Dark Horse Comics)
The Absence (Titan Comics)
The Curse Of Ragdoll (Mike Wolfer Entertainment)
The Shadows of Salamanca (Humanoids Inc.)



Best Archival Collection:eerie
28 Days Later Omnibus (BOOM! Studios)
EC Archives: The Vault of Horror Volume 3 (Dark Horse Comics)
Serenity Rose: 10 Awkward Years (SLG Publishing)
Swampmen: Muck-Monsters and Their Makers (TwoMorrows Publishing)
The Chilling Archives of Horror Comics: The Worst of Eerie Publications (IDW Publishing/Yoe Books)


Best Writer:rachelwriting
Alex de Campi (Grindhouse: Doors Open at Midnight)
Joe Hill (Wraith: Welcome to Christmasland)
Joshua Williamson (Nailbiter, Ghosted)
Roberto Aguirre-Sacasa (Afterlife with Archie, Sabrina)
Terry Moore (Rachel Rising)



Best Artist:afterlifearch
Ben Templesmith (Squidder)
Francesco Francavilla (Afterlife with Archie)
Herman Inclusus (Dismal Incantation)
Leonardo Manco (John Carpenter’s Asylum)
Menton3 (Memory Collectors, Nosferatu Wars)



Best Inker:ragdoll
Christian DiBari (Cutter)
John Bivens (Dark Engine)
Martin Stiff (The Absence)
Mike Wolfer/Dan Parsons (The Curse of Ragdoll)
Terry Moore (Rachel Rising)



Best Letterer:rachelletterd
Herman Inclusus (Dismal Incantation)
Jack Morelli (Afterlife With Archie)
Rachel Deering (In the Dark, Creepy, Sabrina)
Terry Moore (Rachel Rising)
Tyler & Ma’at Crook (Bad Blood)


Best Colorist:surface
Elizabeth Breitweiser (Outcast)
Francesco Francavilla (Afterlife with Archie)
Jay Fotos (’68 Rule of War, ’68 Homefront, Wraith: Welcome to Christmasland)
Kelly Fitzpatrick (Dark Engine)
Tyler Crook (Bad Blood)


Best Web Comic:graveyard
Graveyard Gang
Karma Springs
Split Lip



Best Horror Comic Cover:68rules
Fan voting will determine the Winner
’68 Rule of War #1 (Nat Jones)
’68 Rule of War #3 Cover B (Tim Vigil & Jay Fotos)
Afterlife with Archie #6 (Francesco Francavilla)
Caliban #1 Terror (Facundo Percio, Sebastian Cabrol & Hernan Cabrera)
Hellraiser: Bestiary #04 Cover B (Daniele Serra)
Memory Collectors #3 Sub. Variant (David Stoupakis)
Nosferatu Wars (Menton3)


Hall of Fame Inductees:
Al Hewetson
Jack Davis

Normanton Award Honoree:
Presented for their commitment to carrying on the legacy of Horror Comics for generations to come.
Peter Normanton